© David John - Flickr: DavenJohn


Meltdown line-up announced

Posted at 2:20 pm, March 24, 2011 in Music & Nightlife
Terry Jones

The first acts confirmed for this year’s Meltdown festival (June 10-19) – curated by The Kinks’ Ray Davies – have been announced, and they’re a thrilling pan-disciplinary bunch. Alongside performances from Davies himself, expect US proto-punks The Fugs (playing their first London show since 1968) (pic below), The Sonics (the latter appearing with Wire), cultish neo-psych pop types The Legendary Pink Dots, the Alan Price Set and influential singer-songwriter Nick Lowe. Also joining the festivities are Madness, Yo La Tengo, former (Monty) Pythons Terry Jones (above) and Michael Palin (in conversation), and alternative poets John Cooper Clarke, John Otway and Roger McGough. In rabbit-from-a-hat style, there will be a recreation of iconic ’60s TV show ‘Ready Steady Go!’ Stay tuned for booking details.

For info, see meltdown.southbankcentre.co.uk.
Reminisce Jarvis Cocker at Meltdown.

The Fugs

Tags: , , , , , , , ,