© David John - Flickr: DavenJohn


Here’s what happened at last night’s Olivier Awards

Posted at 12:30 pm, April 29, 2013 in Arts & Entertainment
Luke Treadway at the Olivier Awards (The Curious Incident Of The Dog In TheNight-Time)

The National Theatre was top dog again at last night’s Olivier Awards, after its adaptation of Mark Haddon’s ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time’ took home a massive seven awards, including best new play for adapting playwright Simon Stephens, and best actor for last week’s Time Out cover star Luke Treadaway (above).

Now a West End hit, ‘Curious Incident’ holds joint honours with last year’s ‘Matilda’ for most awards won by a single show, and only failed to win in the category of best choreography.

In an evening marked by various not so subtle allusions to culture secretary Maria Miller’s recent assertion that ‘the arts must prove their worth’, the subsidised sector notched up the lion’s share of the wins, with the Chichester Festival Theatre’s revival of Stephen Sondheim’s ‘Sweeney Todd’ taking home best actor and actress in a musical for Michael Ball and Imelda Staunton, and best musical revival.

But the private sector held its own in a few areas, not least Helen Mirren winning what is, improbably, her first ever best actress gong for her turn as the Queen in Peter Morgan’s ‘The Audience’.

And in a weak year for new musicals – with ‘Book of Mormon’ ineligible for this year’s awards by just a couple of weeks – the charming ‘Top Hat’ easily saw off ‘The Bodyguard’ in the best new musical category.

Other than the Miller digs, the ceremony was a cheery affair, with the only real controversy being the lack of booze – as presenter Tim Minchin observed some three hours in, ‘It feels like a very long time since we were allowed alcohol’.

See our exclusive West End stars photo gallery and read on for the full list of theatre winners from last night:

Best revival – ‘Long Day’s Journey Into Night’

Best new play – ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time’

Best actor in a supporting role – Richard McCabe, ‘The Audience’

Best costume design – Jon Morrell, ‘Top Hat’

Best set design – Bunny Christie and Finn Ross, ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time’

Best lighting design – Paule Constable, ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time’

Best actor – Luke Treadaway, ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time’

Best sound design – Ian Dickinson and Adrian Sutton, ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time’

Outstanding achievement in an affiliate theatre – Royal Court Upstairs

Best director – Marianne Elliott, ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time’

Best actress – Helen Mirren, ‘The Audience’

Audience award – ‘Billy Elliot the Musical’

Best entertainment and family – ‘Goodnight Mister Tom’

Best theatre choreographer – Bill Deamer, ‘Top Hat’

Best performance in a supporting role in a musical – Leigh Zimmerman, ‘A Chorus Line’

Best musical revival – ‘Sweeney Todd’

Best actor in a musical – Michael Ball, ‘Sweeney Todd’

Best actress in a musical – Imelda Staunton, ‘Sweeney Todd’

Best new musical – ‘Top Hat’

Best actress in a supporting role – Nicola Walker, ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time’

Phew! For the latest theatrical news, follow @TimeOutTheatre on Twitter. 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,